New EEOC Workplace Poster Available

10.30.09

Winstead News Alert

The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission announced that it has revised the workplace notice that employers covered by federal anti-discrimination laws must post. The revised workplace notice includes information regarding the Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act’s (GINA) ban on employment discrimination based on an individual's genetic information, which takes effect on November 21, 2009, and changes made by the Americans with Disabilities Act by the ADA Amendments Act, which took effect on January 1, 2009.

To comply with posting requirements under the federal civil rights laws, employers can download, print, and post the November 2009 version of the EEOC poster, which is located at http://www.eeoc.gov/self_print_poster.pdf. Alternatively, employers can download and print an “EEO is the Law” poster supplement, which can be found at http://www.eeoc.gov/gina_supplement.pdf, and post that document alongside EEOC's September 2002 edition of the poster.

Employers also can order copies of the new posters, which are available in Spanish, Chinese, and Arabic, as well as English, from an EEOC clearinghouse. Please visit http://www.eeoc.gov/posterform.html for the EEOC’s instructions for ordering copies of the new posters.

Contacts:

Dallas
Thomas E. Reddin   |  214.745.5410  |  treddin@winstead.com
John D. Smart  |  214.745.5495  |  jsmart@winstead.com
Marcus D. Brown  |  214.745.5178  |  mbrown@winstead.com

Austin
Peyton N. Smith  |  512.370.2809  |  psmith@winstead.com
Trek C. Doyle  |  512.370.2866  |  tdoyle@winstead.com

Houston
Stephen W. Schueler  |  713.650.2763  |  sschueler@winstead.com
Sunita Shirodkar  |  713.650.2660  |  sshirodkar@winstead.com
Norasha L. Williams  |  713.650.2776  |  nwilliams@winstead.com

San Antonio
Timothy H. Bannwolf  |  210.277.6809  |  tbannwolf@winstead.com


Disclaimer:  Content contained within this news alert provides information on general legal issues and is not intended to provide advice on any specific legal matter or factual situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt of it does not constitute, a lawyer-client relationship. Readers should not act upon this information without seeking professional counsel.

Media Contact

Michael Webb
Public Relations Manager
214.745.5308
mwebb@winstead.com

Media Kit

Search Tips:

You may use the wildcard symbol (*) as a root expander.  A search for "anti*" will find not only "anti", but also "anti-trust", "antique", etc.

Entering two terms together in a search field will behave as though an "OR" is being used.  For example, entering "Antique Motorcars" as a Client Name search will find results with either word in the Client Name.

Operators

AND and OR may be used in a search.  Note: they must be capitalized, e.g., "Project AND Finance." 

The + and - sign operators may be used.  The + sign indicates that the term immediately following is required, while the - sign indicates to omit results that contain that term. E.g., "+real -estate" says results must have "real" but not "estate".

To perform an exact phrase search, surround your search phrase with quotation marks.  For example, "Project Finance".

Searches are not case sensitive.

back to top